Years ago, when someone got into a car accident, it wasn’t unusual for them to handle the matter themselves. They would exchange insurance information with the other driver. They would figure out how bad the damage was and, if it was less than their deductible, they would just pay to get it fixed.
Today, this is not really an option. Not only is it not smart, but it’s also against the law. In Rogers, Arkansas, there are laws about reporting a motor vehicle accident. Legally, you’re required to report any crash that results in either $1,000 property damage or any sort of bodily injury.
First of all, it’s impossible to know if there’s more than $1,000 in property damage. Unless you’re a mechanic, there’s no way to know for sure how much it’ll cost to fix your car. With so many cars being computerized these days, it could cost a lot more than you think to fix your vehicle.
Second, there’s no way to know for sure if anyone has been injured in the crash. This is why it’s so important that you go to the hospital immediately after your accident. Just because you feel okay, that doesn’t mean you haven’t suffered some other sort of injury. You could have internal bleeding or a traumatic brain injury. If left untreated, these things can be very dangerous and can even prove fatal.
Calling the police will ensure that you comply with Arkansas’ crash reporting laws. It will also give your Rogers car accident attorney the best chance of getting you the compensation you deserve.
The Cops in Rogers Will Provide You with a Police Report
When you call 911 after your car accident in Rogers, the police will respond to the crash site. They’ll conduct a thorough investigation. When they’re done, they’ll put their findings into an official police report. This report will contain very valuable information, including:
- A description of the accident scene
- Description of road conditions
- Pictures of the accident scene and damage to the vehicles
- License and insurance information for both drivers
- Confirmation of whether either of the drivers were drunk or high at the time of the crash
- Statements made by each of the drivers
- Contact information and statements from any eyewitnesses
- Copies of any videos or pictures of the crash from intersection cameras
The only way to get this information is to call the cops. Your Arkansas car accident lawyer won’t be able to get this information any other way. Witnesses are less likely to talk to an attorney. They’re much more willing to give a statement to the police. And, once the accident scene is cleared, a lot of the evidence will be gone.
Why Would Anyone Agree to Not Call the Cops After Their Crash?
There are all sorts of reasons why someone would agree to not call the police. They may be in a rush and just want to get on their way. Or, they are afraid they’ll get a ticket if they report the accident. Some other drivers try to get you to agree to not call the cops for any number of reasons. None of these are good ones. You need to call the police, no matter what.
Call and Schedule Your Free Initial Consultation with an Experienced Car Accident Lawyer in Rogers, Arkansas
Anyone involved in a car accident in Rogers should talk to a skilled injury lawyer. You have no idea if the insurance company is going to pay your claim. It could take weeks or months to find out. You’re much better off if you have an experienced car accident attorney in Rogers by your side in case something goes wrong.
The only way for your attorney to properly prepare your case is to provide them with a copy of the police report. If you don’t call the cops immediately after your crash, you won’t have a police report. This report contains the best information when it comes to proving your case. You don’t want to make your lawyer’s job any harder than it already is.
If you’ve been involved in any sort of crash, call and schedule your free initial consultation. You can sit down with someone who knows the law. They also have years of experience dealing with the insurance companies. They can answer any questions you may have. They can also let you know what your claim is worth. The consultation is free and you don’t pay a dime until your case is resolved.