It’s a terrifying feeling when you’re involved in a car crash, especially if the at-fault driver does not have liability insurance. In Arkansas, your primary means of recovering compensation for damages resulting from the accident is typically through the at-fault driver’s insurance. If you find yourself in this situation, contact a Rogers uninsured motorist accident lawyer at Keith Law to learn about your possible compensation options.
The physical, financial, and emotional burdens of a car accident are devastating enough; you shouldn’t be subject to more confusion and frustrations that come with dealing with underinsured or uninsured motorists as well. Call our qualified car accident lawyers at (479) 326-7761 as soon as possible. Our attorneys have experience dealing specially with UM/UIM claims and can help you pursue the compensation you deserve.
Auto Insurance Requirements In Arkansas & Stats For Uninsured Motorists
Each of Arkansas’s 2 million licensed motorists must purchase both property and bodily injury liability insurance to cover the damage they cause in a car accident. Currently, minimum auto insurance requirements in Arkansas are set at 25/25/50 – or:
- $25,000 per person in any one accident for bodily injury or death
- $25,000 per person for property liability coverage
- $50,000 per crash for bodily injury liability or death of two or more individuals
Unfortunately, not all motorists carry auto insurance. Some reduce their coverage to the lowest limits allowed under Arkansas’s laws, and others drop their car insurance altogether. Almost 17% of drivers in Arkansas aren’t correctly insured. This can add stress considerably if you get in an accident. However, whether the at-fault driver is underinsured or uninsured doesn’t affect their liability if they are found to be at fault for the crash.
What Steps Should I Take After A Car Accident With An Uninsured Driver?
After a car accident occurs, it’s easy to become shaken, confused, and disoriented. However, you must obtain vital information. Below, we’ve laid out how to handle a car accident with an uninsured/underinsured driver – giving you the know-how to take the right steps.
If you get into a car accident in Rogers, regardless of whether the other driver has insurance or not, call the police. Don’t forget that not having the proper coverage is illegal. So, contacting the police is even more important if the other party is not insured.
Check On Yourself And Others Involved In The Crash
Make sure your injuries are manageable. Then check on others involved in the crash and contact emergency responders if anyone is hurt. Don’t leave!
The other driver might not have insurance info to give you, but be sure you get their contact information and vehicle details. Don’t forget to collect contact information from any witnesses. Their statements can prove to be invaluable during the claim process.
Record The Scene
If you can, record the scene of the accident. Take pictures of the vehicles, and note down the name and badge number of the responding police officer(s). Record any pertinent details that you think can help with your claim.
Don’t Admit Fault
Never admit guilt or fault. Restrain from saying anything until you talk to an attorney. You don’t want something you said without the presence of mind to get in the way of your claim.
See A Doctor
Sometimes, injuries caused by an auto accident might not be apparent. You should see your regular physician or visit a local emergency room, get checked out, and follow the doctor’s instructions regarding care, medication, and follow-up.
Call A Reputable Car Accident Lawyer!
It’s essential to have an experienced and well-reputed Rogers uninsured motorist accident lawyer so they can make sure your claim process is as seamless as possible.
How Is Fault Determined For Liability In Arkansas Car Accidents?
As mentioned earlier, Arkansas is an at-fault state. But what does this mean, exactly? It means that the party found to be responsible for the crash is also accountable for all damages and injuries. But what happens when the driver responsible for the crash is uninsured and cannot take responsibility for your injuries or property damage? This is where your UM/UIM coverage comes in. Insurance carriers in Arkansas are mandated to offer you UM/UIM coverage to help you protect yourself from the financial burden that follows a car accident involving an uninsured driver.
Is It Easy To Recover Underinsured Motorist/Uninsured Motorist Benefits?
Arkansas’s uninsured motorists cause millions in damage and serious injuries. Unfortunately, recovering benefits under your UM/UIM coverage is a complicated process. All to0 often, even after going the extra mile to protect yourself with the UM/UIM policy for years, insurance carriers are unwilling to compensate you for the full value of the damages and injuries.
You must justify the amount you are claiming, just as you would with other claims. As always, expect the insurance company to try everything in their power to settle the claim for as little as possible even when you rightly deserve more compensation. A car accident lawyer can file your underinsured motorist claim with the insurance company and get you the full compensation.
What Should I Do If My Uninsured Motorist Claim Is Denied?
Has your insurance carrier refused to pay your UM/UIM benefits? Contact Keith Law right away. Although the law requires all insurance providers to uphold their policies, they are notorious for finding ways around paying out benefits to policyholders.
Our car accident attorneys will thoroughly review your case, including your claim with your insurance carrier, police reports, witness statements, evidence from the crash scene, medical bills, your UM/UIM policy, and the reasons why your claim was denied. They will then lodge a dispute claim and begin negotiations with your insurance company and try to reach a solution. If that doesn’t work, we will file a suit against your insurer for breach of contract.
Contact A Rogers Uninsured Motorist Lawyer
Have you been in a car accident involving an underinsured or uninsured driver? If so, work with Keith Law to explore your uninsured/underinsured motorist policy and to discuss how to claim UM/UIM benefits and whether you should sue the at-fault driver if they don’t have auto insurance. Remember skilled attorneys are best placed to help you handle your uninsured car accident. Call us at (479) 326-7761 for a free consultation.