Arkansas law requires that every policy of motor vehicle insurance issued in Arkansas contain no-fault coverage for medical payments and disability.
This means that by default car insurance companies are required to pay up to $5,000 in medical benefits to anyone who is injured in a car accident.
This type of coverage is commonly referred to by attorneys and those in the insurance industry as “med pay” or “medical pay.”
Medical expenses that are covered by med pay include:
While med pay requires that the insurance company pay up to $5,000 in medical benefits, you may elect to have coverage as high as $25,000 pursuant to Arkansas law.
If you do not want med pay, Arkansas law requires that you reject this coverage in writing.
It is never a good idea to reject these coverages, even if you have other insurance, because these coverages come at a generally low cost and the insurance company must pay regardless for who is at fault for the accident.
Many insurance companies choose disregard Arkansas law in situations where an injured party does not have a lawyer.
Specifically, insurance companies take the position that they are not required to inform you of your entitlement to med pay benefits.
And as many insurance consumers are unaware of this med pay coverage, insurance companies can avoid paying for it.
Further, some insurance companies may simply tell you that you do not have med pay coverage when you ask about it (without providing you any evidence that you rejected med pay coverage in writing).
Medical pay is a very important coverage required by Arkansas law, and if you have been hurt in a car wreck, it is even more important that you have an attorney skilled at navigating the field of insurance law.
If you, or someone you know, has been injured in a car wreck in Northwest Arkansas, and is struggling to deal with insurance companies, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 479-621-0006 or visit our website at nwacaraccidentattorney.com.